By using multiple risk registers and workspaces, you can associate a register with one or more workspaces. This allows you to map controls from specific workspaces to the risks within a particular register.
Prerequisites
Plan requirements
Your Drata plan must include Workspaces and Risk Management Pro.
Role requirements
Only Admins and Risk Managers can create, configure, or delete a risk register.
Only Workspace Managers can associate workspaces with a register.
A user must be assigned as a manager to Workspace X to link it to any register.
You will need to create a register and associate it to one or many workspaces, however you are not required to create a register per workspace—a single register can be associated to all workspaces.
⚠️ Role Compatibility Warning Note:
Do not assign both Admin and Risk Manager roles to a single user. This can cause permission conflicts. If a user is an Admin, remove the Risk Manager role to ensure consistent behavior.
The ability to move risks between registers is restricted to the following roles:
Admins
Risk Managers
Risk Register Owners with access to two or more registers.
Restricted View: Risk Managers with a restricted view can only see and manage risks they own. They cannot add risks, change ownership, or create new registers.
If you want to... | You need these roles |
Create or Delete a Register | Admin or Risk Manager |
Create, Edit, or Delete a Risk | Admin, Risk Manager or Workspace Manager |
Link "Workspace A" to a Register | Admin or Risk Manager |
Move Risks between Registers | Admin or Risk Manager + Risk Register Owner (if owner of both registers), OR Workspace Manager (if both registers are linked to their workspaces) |
View a Register |
|
Create a Risk Register and associate a workspace
You can create up to 100 risk registers per account. You are not required to create a unique register for every workspace; a single register can be associated with all workspaces if desired.
To create a risk register:
Go to Risk > Registers.
Select Create register.
When creating a new register:
Enter a title (required)
Add a description (optional)
Assign one or more register owners (optional)
Check the “Associate controls to risks in this register” box and select the workspace(s) you want to associate with this register.
Only the workspaces the user has access to will be available in the list.
Select Save register.
Important permissions and ownership details
You can assign multiple register owners to a single risk register.
Only users with the Risk Register Owner role can be assigned as register owners. You can grant this role from the Settings > Role administration page.
Workspace Managers can only see registers which are related to their workspaces.
Important workspace-related details
Even when you are in a specific workspace (e.g., "Tiny Tech Inc"), the All registers view displays every register you are authorized to see, regardless of its workspace association. This ensures a centralized, "full-picture" view of your organization's risk landscape.
Associate a single register with all workspaces for centralized management or create separate registers for specific departments and frameworks. There is no requirement to maintain a one-to-one ratio between registers and workspaces.
Update a risk register
You can update a register’s settings at any time. To update a register:
Select Configure register from either the Register list view or the Register detail page
From there, you can update the register’s details, ownership and workspace association.
Add or remove a workspace from a register
You can map a register to one or more workspaces, which allows you to map controls from that workspace to risks in a particular register.
Add a Workspace
Select Configure register.
Select the Associate controls to risks in this register checkbox.
Select the workspaces to associate with the register.
Select Save.
Once you do, the risks in that register can be associated to controls from the workspaces selected.
Remove a Workspace
Select Configure register.
Under Related workspaces, select the X next to a workspace name, or select Remove all workspaces.
Save your changes.
⚠️ Note:
Removing a workspace unmaps all associated controls from the risks in that register.
Workspace Managers for that workspace will also lose access to the register.
Training Videos
Explore Risk Register training videos for Admins and Risk Managers, including scenarios with multiple registers and restricted access. You must be logged into Drata to access these videos.







